Date posted: July 25, 2014

Ori Naftaly BandOri Naftaly Band is a Funky Rock n’ Soul band based out of Memphis, TN.  Founder, producer, songwriter, lead guitarist and backbone of the band – Ori Naftaly,  along with songwriter, and lead vocalist, Eleanor Tsaig formed Ori Naftaly Band in November 2011. Their album “Happy for Good” conveys the band’s journey from its inception up to the time it was recorded.

The band’s new rhythm section, featuring TY Drums from Chicago on the drums and Prentiss ‘Poyee’ Yancy from Memphis on the bass have both propelled the band to a new level.  The band’s new single – ‘Do it to ya’ – is a showcase of the soulful direction the band is headed in and the deep pocket they reside in with the addition of the new rhythm section.


_DSC9978_edited-1 resize for webWithin the last two years Ori Naftaly Band (ONB) has covered 25 states in the US, and twice toured the Netherlands. In 2013 the band won the Israeli Blues Challenge Competition, and was the first Israeli band ever to reach the Semi-Finals in the International Blues Challenge (IBC) in Memphis, TN.   They also hold the distinction of selling the most CD’s of any band in the competition.

Date posted: July 24, 2014

CollisionsThe wait is over – the heavy dirty funk 4-piece TAUK has released their much-anticipated LP Collisions. The new album features the band’s signature sound guided again by legendary Grammy-Winning Producer Robert Carranza (Mars Volta, Jack Johnson).

To Charlie Dolan, bassist for TAUK, this new album is the natural progression. “I like to think of this album as an extension of Homunculus,” explains Dolan. “We took some of our favorite parts of that album and expanded on them with new sounds and musical flavors. Its music that makes you think, but can also make you dance.”

The album title itself for Collisions reflects the spirit of the band as a whole. Guitarist Matt Jalbert explains, “Being an instrumental band, our music is more about stirring up a feeling rather than meaning something specific. The word ‘Collisions’ lets your mind make up an image of its own. It’s a little bit open ended, but at the same time powerful.”


Date posted: July 23, 2014

SunshineTwin-Cities based Davina and the Vagabonds announce their new CD, Sunshine, on Roustabout Records. Recorded in exquisite analog sound and released on both CD and vinyl, Sunshine is a bold statement from a songwriter and band that draws from the last 100 years of American music.

At the heart of the band’s sound are the scintillating keyboard work and soulful vocals of Davina. “Sowers’ vocals are unreal,” wrote one reviewer. “She simultaneously evokes Adele and Bessie Smith, and the band’s sound is vintage and fresh, a modern take on old-time blues and jazz.” A British reviewer said of her style, “Think of a meld of Bessie Smith, Etta James, Alberta Adams and Amy Winehouse and you come close to understanding what Davina Sowers is all about …Davina is a real talent who deserves greater exposure.”

Over the last nine years, Davina and the Vagabonds have grown from a down-and-dirty blues band into one of the most exciting ensembles in the country. Sunshine is the latest chapter in DATV’s new spin on an old sound mission!

Date posted: July 11, 2014

Congratulations to the Intrepid Ones on their nominations for the 2014 Living Blues Awards!

- John Nemeth  for Male Outstanding Blues Singer

- Lil’ Ed and the Blues Imperials  for Best Live Performer

To place your vote visit the Living Blues website at

Date posted: July 8, 2014

You Asked For It Live!Every night that award-winning harmonica player, singer and songwriter Rick Estrin and his cohorts The Nightcats perform live— wherever in the world that may be—a crowd of dancing, shouting, laughing and cheering people will be enjoying some of the best live music they’ve ever heard. On one of these nights—October 5, 2013, at San Francisco’s Biscuits & Blues—the proceedings were captured live. The result is Rick Estrin & The Nightcats’ irresistible new release, You Asked For It…Live!

You Asked For It…Live! has the immediacy, feel and fun of a true Rick Estrin & The Nightcats performance. “No matter how much fun we have and how relaxed we can be in the studio, there’s still nothing like being in front of, and interacting with, our live audience,” Estrin says.

“After shows, people are always asking, ’Are any of these CDs live? Which of your CDs is most like what you did tonight?’” Estrin recalls. “Now, I can tell them, ‘This one right here. Thank you. We’ll be happy to sign it.’”